FOAM PAUL HUF AWARD 2022:  Jury members announced

Winner of the 16th Foam Paul Huf Award to be revealed on 15th March 2022.

The 16th winner of the Foam Paul Huf Award will be revealed on 15th March 2022.The award for talented upcoming photographers is organised annually by Foam and evaluated by an independent and renowned jury. The jury for the 2022 edition consists of the following members: Alona Pardo (chair, UK), Oscar Muñoz (CO), Oluremi Onabanjo (NG), Anna-Kaisa Rastenberger (FI), Demet Yıldız Dinçer (TR). In the following weeks, the jury will start reviewing the portfolios of nominated artists from all over the world to select a winner. 

The award consists of a cash prize of € 20.000 and a solo exhibition at Foam. Above all, the winner will see his/her/their name added to an impressive list of alumni. In 2021 the Foam Paul Huf Award has been awarded to American photographer John Edmonds (1989, United States) whose exhibition A Sidelong Glance is currently on show at Foam until 19th June. 

International experts
To produce an internationally representative selection, Foam approached around thirty nominators from various parts of the world. Specialists and experts in the field of photography were each asked to select a number of talented upcoming photographers in their own region. The award is open to upcoming photographers from all ages working in all photographic genres: from documentary or applied photography to journalistic or independent work. The winner’s work must exhibit a clear visual language and distinguish itself in both form and content. 

About the jury
Alona Pardo (chair, United Kingdom) is a curator at Barbican Art Gallery in London with extensive knowledge on photography and film. Oscar Muñoz (Colombia) is a visual artist and founder of Lugar a Dudas, an independent art space in Cali. Oluremi Onabanjo (Nigeria) is an associate curator in the department of photography at the museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York. Anna-Kaisa Rastenberger (Finland) is chief curator at the Finnish museum of Photography, as well as artistic director and co-founder of the Festival of Political Photography in Helsinki. Demet Yıldız Dinçer (Turkey) is the photography department manager at Istanbul Modern. 

About Paul Huf
The award is inspired by the Dutch photographer Paul Huf (1924 – 2002) and his open and enthusiastic approach to new photography and upcoming talent – which is parallel to Foam’s mission. Paul Huf was known for his innovative photographic technique, and he was personally involved in the establishment of Foam Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam in 2001.

Previous winners 
2021 – John Edmonds (1989, United States)
2020 – Laia Abril (1986, Spain) 
2019 – Eric Gyamfi (1990, Ghana)
2018 – Daniel Shea (1985, United States)
2017 – Romain Mader (1988, Switzerland)
2016 – Daisuke Yokota (1983, Japan)
2015 – Momo Okabe (1981, Japan)
2014 – Daniel Gordon (1980, United States)
2013 – Taiyo Onorato & Nico Krebs (1979, Switzerland)
2012 – Alex Prager (1979, United States)
2011 – Raphaël Dallaporta (1980, France)
2010 – Alexander Gronsky (1980, Estonia)
2009 – Leonie Hampton (1978, United Kingdom)
2008 – Pieter Hugo (1976, South Africa)
2007 – Mikhael Subotzky (1981, South Africa) and Taryn Simon (1975, United States)