International Conducting Competition, Rotterdam (ICCR)

Twenty-four conductors from eighteen different countries worldwide have been selected to take part in the first edition of the International Conducting Competition Rotterdam (ICCR). Last July 165 conductors from 50 countries, aged 23 to 35 years old, applied. Today, the selection jury, consisting of Sian Edwards, Ara Guzelimian, Antony Hermus, Kenneth Montgomery, Elmar Weingarten and George Wiegel, invited 24 nominees to the live selection rounds in Rotterdam.

24 Nominees
All six jurors assessed the application videos of all 165 candidates, over 50 hours of material. The live selection rounds will take place in de Doelen, with Sinfonia Rotterdam. The selection rounds consist of two rounds: in the first round 24 conductors will perform on 14th and 15th December and 12 will continue to the second selection round on 16th December.

The selection rounds can be followed live via the webcast on Youtube and Facebook. At the end of the selection rounds, six contestants will be selected to participate in the actual competition in May/June 2021.

The 24 nominees for the selection rounds are:

Carlos Ágreda, Colombia
Bertie Baigent, United Kingdom
Daichi Deguchi, Japan
Martijn  Dendievel, Belgium
Ka Hou  Fan, Macao / Portugal
Nicolò Foron, Italy / Germany
Oscar  Jockel, Germany
Yuwon  Kim, South Korea
Johannes Marsovszky, Germany
Paul Marsovszky, Germany
Nils Erik Måseidvåg, Norway
Kent Moussault, Netherlands / Japan

Wilson Ng, Hong Kong
Simon Proust, France
Anna Rakitina, Russia
Chloe Rooke, United Kingdom
Joel Sandelson, Germany
Nikita Sorokine, France / Russia
Luis Toro Araya, Chili
Piotr Wacławik, Poland
Katharina Wincor, Austria
CJ WU, Taiwan
Hankyeol Yoon, South Korea
Johannes Zahn , Germany

New Formula

ICCR presents a new formula, which offers six exceptionally talented conductors the opportunity to work with several international top orchestras. The first edition (from 23rd May to 4th June 2021) will include the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, the Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century, Sinfonia Rotterdam, DoelenEnsemble, Rotterdam Symphony Chorus and Budapest Festival Orchestra. The competition comprises six separate rounds with various themes ranging from classical to contemporary, from opera to great symphonic works. This gives the participants a unique opportunity to display their expertise. Each round is a fully-fledged project in itself, with rehearsals and a closing concert. ICCR will take place every three years.

Jury panel
The ICCR clearly enjoys international support, as can be seen in the line-up of twenty leading figures who will comprise the jury, including the conductors: Anja Bihlmaier, Martyn Brabbins, Iván Fischer, Jane Glover, Wayne Marshall, Frank Ollu, Lahav Shani, Ed Spanjaard, and Xian Zhang, alongside the composers Michel van der Aa, James MacMillan, Anna Thorvaldsdottir, Benjamin Wallfisch andTon Koopman, musicians Roberta Alexander and Maxim Vengerov and managers Deborah Borda (CEO New York Philharmonic), Jonathan Darlington (Music director Vancouver Opera), Ara Guzelimian (Provost and Dean Juilliard School in New York), Sophie de Lint (director Dutch National Opera) and Elmar Weingarten (former intendant of Berlin Philharmoniker).

A prize will be awarded to the best specialist per round. In addition, one conductor will receive the Grand Prix for the best all-rounder. The audience will be given the chance to vote for its favourite, with the Audience Prize provided by the Kersjes Fund. The total prize money is €80.000. As part of the prize, the winners will receive support in their career development for a period of three years.
In the subsequent phase, the winner will make his or her debut at major international venues. All laureates will receive individually tailored coaching through a Career Development Programme. This will include engagements with top orchestras worldwide, masterclasses and assistance with PR.